Skip to content

How to survive: read this blog

March 18, 2011
by

 

The experience of moving to Geneva is surely not unlike travelling to the moon: accommodation is scarce, applying for a work permit is a bitch, and even though many people have done it before you, you’re still not convinced you’ll survive the experience.

I should know, I’ve done it twice.*

Even this second time around, I’ve yet to persuade myself that I’ll ever get out of here alive (potential causes of death: boredom, fatal obesity due to over consumption of cheese and chocolate, murdered by friend so that she could take over my lease).  As I’m only 27** and not ready to die, I’ve decided to take this situation into my own hands and start this blog, in the hope that through it I might also prevent the Geneva-induced death of other young expatriates. Together, we can survive this city. We may even begin to enjoy it.***

So, here it is, the ‘How to’ guide to coping with the mundanely outrageous challenges presented by this outrageously mundane place.

_______________

*They say that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Infer from that what you will.

** Am I too old to keep prefacing my age with ‘only’?

*** Okay, that might be pushing it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Thomson permalink
    March 22, 2011 3:51 pm

    If you don’t like Geneva you can always just leave…

  2. Ivan permalink
    March 24, 2011 1:05 am

    Hola Carlotta,
    love tour articles!!!

    Please add me on Facebook so I can share with you anarticle.I wrotte recently about LOVE IN GENEVA which I think you wil love

    Ivam

  3. March 28, 2011 6:13 pm

    https://www.economist.com/node/18289282
    Interesting post you’ll no doubt enjoy in The Economist earlier this month

Leave a Reply

